Go to content Go to main menu


The Competition Fiction comprises first and second European feature fiction films produced for theatrical release. During the awards presentation the Jury Competition Fiction gives out the Crossing Europe Award – Best Fiction Film to the director of the prize-winning film. All awards HERE.

Stefan Butzmühlen (DE)
Germany, filmmaker, distributor

Stefan Butzmühlen is a film and video artist and founder of the German film distribution company GRANDFILM. His first feature film Sleepless Knights premiered at the 63th Berlinale and was shown at numerous international film festivals. His second feature Radiant Sea premiered at Crossing Europe in 2015.    

Václav Kadrnka (CZ)
Czech Republic, filmmaker, film teacher at FAMU in Prague

Václav Kadrnka studied theatre in Great Britain and directing at the Film and TV School of the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague. In 2012, the Czech film critics named Václav Kadrnka Discovery of the Year. His second feature Little Crusader is shown at Crossing Europe in the Panorama Fiction section and won the main competition in Karlovy Vary IFF in 2017. 

Martha Otte (NO) 
Norway, festival director

Martha Otte, born in California, emigrated to Norway in 1974. She has been working with Tromso International Film Festival (TIFF) since 1998 and was appointed artistic director of the festival in 2004. TIFF’s trademark is high-quality arthouse programming for Norway’s largest festival audience.  


This award is given out to one of the eleven documentary films from the section Competition Documentary with a minimum length of 60 minutes and with socio-political/social relevance, which is an Austrian premiere, and produced in 2017/18. The award goes to the director of the prize-winning film. All awards HERE

Zdeněk Blaha (CZ)
Czech Republic, East Silver Manager, curator

Since 2009 Zdeněk Blaha has been working for the Institute of Documentary Film as East Silver Manager, specializing on festival strategies and distribution. He regularly cooperates with festivals in the Czech Republic, such as Karlovy Vary IFF, Summer Film School Uherské Hradiště and Days of European Film.   

Magali Roucaut (FR)
France, filmmaker

Magali Roucaut studied documentary filmmaking at University of Evry Val d’Essonne. Since then she has been experimenting with the audiovisual form, both in the films she has been commissioned to make and in documentaries of her own. Her film Behind the Stone Wall was part of Crossing Europe 2017. 

Oliver Sertić (HR)
Croatia, documentary producer, festival programmer / director

Oliver Sertić is originally from Zagreb but lives in Berlin. He has produced around 30 feature and short documentaries and experimental films. Since 2012 he has been the director of Liburnia Film Festival, the Croatian documentary film festival in Opatija.   


All the films/videos presented in the program section Local Artists participate in the competition. An expert jury awards the prizes to the director of the prize-winning film. All awards HERE.

Anatol Bogendorfer (AT)
Austria, artist, works in the fields of sound and film

Various activities in the local cultural scene (KAPU, StopSpot, Hörstadt), currently active in the electronic duo Gitter. Several short films, experimental AV works, founded Retro Goldmine Film, directs and produces documentary shorts. His debut feature Innere Blutungen was shown at Crossing Europe in 2013. 

Marija Milovanovic (AT)
Austria, cultural manager, curator

Marija Milovanovic is the co-manager of Vienna Shorts Agentur founded in 2015, which concentrates on the effective presentation and distribution of (short) films. Since 2008 she has been working for VIS Vienna Shorts, Austria’s only Oscar-accredited short film festival. 

Oona Valarie Serbest (AT)
Austria, artist, cultural manager

Oona Valarie Serbest is CEO of FIFTITU% — a networking association for women* in art and culture, CEO of the alliance Feminismus und Krawall, founding member and chairwoman of the cultural association Peligro and a graduating student at the University of Arts in Linz. Her debut feature Von Hexen und verrückten Kühen was shown at Crossing Europe in 2012. 


The Youth Jury awards the prize to the director of the prize-winning film. The following films are up for debate:

Tom Lass, DE 2017, 100 min, OmeU

Nanouk Leopold, NL/BE/DE 2017, 94 min, OmeU 

Rojda Sekersöz, SE 2017, 93 min, OmdU 

Lukáš Kokeš, Klára Tasovská, CZ 2017, 92 min, OmeU 

Juraj Lehotský, SK/CZ 2017, 82 min, OmeU 

Annika Berg, DK 2017, 96 min, OmeU

Anna Haderer, 17 years, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz
Selina Hilber, 18 years, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz
Sophie Rieger, 18 years, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz
Valentin Weibold, 18 years, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz
Lena Pöschko, 18 years, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz