Go to content Go to main menu

JURY COMPETITION FICTION 2017

The Competition Fiction is comprised of first and second European feature fiction films. During the awards ceremony the Jury Competition – Fiction gives out the CROSSING EUROPE Award – Best Fiction Film to the director of the prize-winning film.

Cosima Finkbeiner (DE)

Cosima Finkbeiner was born in the north of Germany. Following a gap year in Australia, she studied communication studies in England, managed an art house cinema, and volunteered for the Cambridge Film Festival. Finkbeiner went on to take her master’s degree in Media/Culture in the Netherlands. After working for German Films briefly and traveling around South America, Cosima Finkbeiner joined the Munich-based world sales agency Beta Cinema in 2012, where she is in charge of festival relations.

Karel Och (CZ)

Karel Och, born in 1974, studied law and graduated in film theory and history from Prague’s Charles University. Since 2001, he has worked for the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival as a member of the selection committee: Och has programed the documentary competition and curated tributes and retrospectives to Sam Peckinpah, John Huston, Michael Powell, Emeric Pressburger, and others. In 2010, Karel Och was appointed artistic director of the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival.

Andrei Tănăsescu (RO/CA)

Andrei Tănăsescu is a festival programmer, curator, and filmmaker based in Bucharest and Toronto. After getting a specialist degree in film studies at the University of Toronto, he co-founded the Romanian Film Festival Toronto. He completed a master’s degree in literature at the University of Saint Andrews in Scotland with a master’s thesis on Deleuze and Romanian Cinema. Since 2010, he has been part of the programming team at the Toronto International Film Festival as well as a regular collaborator with the Berlin International Film Festival and the Bucharest International Experimental Film Festival.


JURY COMPETITION DOCUMENTARY 2017

This award is given out to one of the ten documentary films from the section CROSSING EUROPE Competition – Documentary with a minimum length of 60 minutes and with socio-political/social relevance, which is an Austrian premiere, and produced in 2016/17. The award goes to the director of the prizewinning film.

Lina Dinkla (DE)

Lina Dinkla, born in 1977, studied cultural studies as well as communication and media studies in Leipzig. She was a film author for various magazines and has worked in different positions for international film festivals (Berlinale Talents, Short Film Festival Hamburg, CROSSING EUROPE, FilmFestival Cottbus). Since 2009, she is program coordinator for DOK Leipzig, where her responsibilities include the selection for the children’s programs. In addition, Dinkla curates film programs for the most diverse institutions and festivals.

Alejandro Díaz Castaño (ES)

Alejandro Díaz Castaño, born in 1979 in Gijón, worked as a programmer for the Gijón International Film Festival in 2010 and 2011.  He has served as the Head of Programming for the Seville European Film Festival (2012-16) and, since 2017, he is the Director of the Gijón International Film Festival, where he had already been a programmer (2010-11). He is a regular contributor to cinema and music monthlies, such as Caimán Cuadernos de Cine (formerly Cahiers du Cinéma – Spain) and Rockdelux. Alejandro Díaz Castaño’s directorial credits include the short film The Escape which screened at the San Sebastián International Film Festival 2016.

Audrius Stonys (LT)

Audrius Stonys, born in 1966 in Vilnius, is an awardwinning Lithuanian documentary filmmaker, producer, and lecturer at the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre. Stonys studied directing in Vilnius and at the Film Anthology Archive New York under Jonas Mekas. He is the recipient of the European Film Award for the documentary film Earth of the Blind. Since 1989, he has created thirteen documentaries and one short fiction film. In 2008, CROSSING EUROPE dedicated its Tribute to Stonys. His directorial credits include Baltic Way (1990), Earth of the Blind (1992), Flying over the Blue Field (1996), Harbour (1998), Fedia, Three Minutes after the Big Bang (1999), The Flight over Lithuania or 510 Seconds of Silence (2000), Alone (2001), The Last Car (2002), Countdown (2004), and Mist of Mists (2006). Stonys’s current film, Woman and the Glacier, will be presented at CROSSING EUROPE 2017.


JURY COMPETITION LOCAL ARTIST 2017

All the films/videos presented in the program section Local Artists participate in the competition. Furthermore The Jury Competition – Local Artist awards the prize to one competition title for its innovative artistic approach. An expert jury awards the prizes to the director of the prize-winning film.

Felix Sebastian Huber (AT)

Felix Sebastian Huber, born in 1988 in Vöcklabruck, graduated from the technical secondary school HTL Goethestraße for Graphics and Communication Design. Since 2014, he studies Time-based Media at the Art University Linz in the master’s program. Huber’s Farfalla was distinguished in 2015 with the material prize of the CROSSING EUROPE Award – Local Artist and at the Rueda Film Festival Barcelona as the best short documentary film. In addition to his own work as a director – XE (2014), Murl (2015), Farfalla (2015), Ois ok Mama – Texta (2016), and Pistoin – Da Staummtisch (2016) – Felix Sebastian Huber has also worked as a cameraman for filmmakers such as Katharina Gruzei, Markus Mörth (Siblings), and Nasri Hajjaj (The Purple Field).

Katrin Köppert (DE/AT)

Katrin Köppert is a queer-media-affects-theorist and teaches at the Art University Linz. She studied gender studies and New German Literature at the Humboldt-Universität Berlin. Köppert wrote her graduation thesis on the theme of “queer pain in (vernacular) photography post-war & pre-stonewall”. She has most recently published, as co-editor: “I is for Impasse. Affektive Queerverbindungen in Theorie_ Aktivismus_Kunst”.

Angela Summereder (AT)

Angela Summereder, born in 1958 in Ort im Innkreis, studied film directing, German literature, and journalism and communication studies in Vienna. Her dissertation was devoted to the film work by Jean- Marie Straub and Danièle Huillet. Summereder works as an author and (documentary film) director and is also involved in art education, theater pedagogy, and adult education. In 1981, she wrote and shot the seminal feature film Zechmeister. Her directing work moreover includes Blut in der Spur (1978), Abendbrot (2008), Jobcenter (2009), Im Augenblick. Die Historie und das Offene (2013), and Out of the Void (2015). In 2016, Angela Summereder was awarded the State Cultural Award of the Federal Province of Upper Austria in the section Film.

Zum Inhalt Zum Hauptmenü

JURY COMPETITION FICTION 2017

 In der Sektion Competition Fiction laufen erste und zweite europäische Langspielfilme. Die Jury Competition – Fiction vergibt im Rahmen der Preisverleihung den CROSSING EUROPE Award – Best Fiction Film an die Regisseurin / den Regisseur des prämierten Filmes. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier.

Cosima Finkbeiner (DE)

Cosima Finkbeiner wurde in Norddeutschland geboren. Nach einem Gap-Year in Australien studierte sie Kommunikationswissenschaft in England, arbeitete dort als Managerin eines Programmkinos sowie fur das Cambridge Film Festival. Danach absolvierte Finkbeiner ihren Master in Medien/Kultur in den Niederlanden. Es folgten eine Assistenztatigkeit bei German Films und eine mehrmonatige Rundreise durch Sudamerika. Seit 2012 ist Cosima Finkbeiner beim Weltvertrieb Beta Cinema in Munchen fur den Bereich Festivals verantwortlich.

Karel Och (CZ)

Karel Och, geb. 1974, studierte Rechtswissenschaft, Filmtheorie und Geschichte an der Karls-Universitat in Prag. Seit 2001 arbeitet er fur das Karlovy Vary International Film Festival und ist dort Mitglied des Programmauswahlkomitees: Och zeichnete in der Vergangenheit fur den Dokumentarfilmwettbewerb sowie fur Tributes und Retrospektiven zu Sam Peckinpah, John Huston, Michael Powell, Emeric Pressburger und anderen verantwortlich. Seit 2010 fungiert Karel Och als kunstlerischer Direktor des Karlovy Vary International Film Festival.

Andrei Tănăsescu (RO/CA)

Andrei Tănăsescu ist ein in Bukarest und Toronto tätiger Festivalprogrammer, Kurator und Filmemacher. Nach seinem Abschluss in Filmwissenschaft an der University of Toronto gründete er das Romanian Film Festival Toronto. Tănăsescu absolvierte ein Masterstudium in Literaturwissenschaft an der University of Saint Andrews in Schottland. Seine Abschlussarbeit befasste sich mit Deleuze und dem rumänischen Kino. Seit 2010 ist Andrei Tănăsescu Teil des Programmteams des Toronto International Film Festival sowie regelmäsiger Mitarbeiter bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin sowie dem Bucharest International Experimental Film Festival.


JURY COMPETITION DOCUMENTARY 2017

Der Preis wird an einen der zehn Dokumentarfilme aus der Sektion CROSSING EUROPE Competition – Documentary mit einer Mindestlänge von 60 Minuten vergeben und mit gesellschaftspolitischer/sozialer Relevanz, österreichische Erstaufführung und Produktionsjahr 2016/17 vorausgesetzt. Der Preis geht an die Regisseurin/den Regisseur des prämierten Filmes. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier.

Lina Dinkla (DE)

Lina Dinkla, geb. 1977, studierte Kulturwissenschaft sowie Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaft in Leipzig. Sie war Filmautorin fur verschiedene Magazine und in unterschiedlichen Positionen bei internationalen Filmfestivals tatig (Berlinale Talents, Kurzfilmfestival Hamburg, CROSSING EUROPE, FilmFestival Cottbus). Seit 2009 ist sie Programmkoordinatorin bei DOK Leipzig und hier unter anderem fur die Auswahl der Kinderprogramme zustandig. Zudem kuratiert Dinkla Filmprogramme fur verschiedenste Institutionen und Festivals.

Alejandro Díaz Castaño (ES)

Alejandro Díaz Castaño, geb. 1979 in Gijón, arbeitete  als Programmer für das Gijón International Film Festival 2010 und 2011. Er fungierte er als Programmdirektor des Seville European Film Festival (2012-2016) und ist seit 2017 Festivalleiter des Gijón International Film Festival, wo er bereits als Programmer tätig war (2010-2011).  Als regelmäßiger Autor wirkt er an Monatsmagazinen  wie Caimán Cuadernos de Cine (ehemals Cahiers du Cinéma – Spanien) und Rockdelux mit. Alejandro Díaz  Castaños Kurzfilm i heSa  wurde beim San Sebastián International Film Festival 2016 aufgeführt. 

Audrius Stonys (LT)

Audrius Stonys, geb. 1966 in Vilnius, ist ein preisgekrönter litauischer Dokumentarfilmemacher, Produzent und Dozent an der Lietuvos muzikos ir teatro akademija. Stonys studierte Regie in Vilnius sowie am Film Anthology Archive New York unter Jonas Mekas. Für seinen Dokumentarfilm Earth of the Blind wurde er mit dem European Film Award ausgezeichnet. Seit 1989 realisierte Stonys dreizehn Dokumenta filme sowie einen Kurzfilm. 2008 widmete CROSSING EUROPE ihm ein Tribute. Stonys’ Regieportfolio umfasst Arbeiten wie BALTIJOS KELIA (1990), NEREGIŲ ŽEMĖ  (1992), SKRAJOJIMAI MĖLYNAME  LAUKE  (1996), UOSTAS  (1998), FEDIA , TRYS  MINUTĖS  PO DIDŽIOJO  SPROGIMO  (1999), S KRYDIS  PER LIETUVĄ  ARBA 510 SEKUNDŽIŲ  TYLOS (2000), VIENA  (2001), PASKUTINIS VAGONAS (2002), COUNTDOWN (2004) UND ŪKŲ ŪKAI (2006). Audrius Stonys’ aktueller Film, WOMAN AND  THE GLACIER, ist im Programm von CROSSING EUROPE 2017 zu sehen. 


JURY COMPETITION LOCAL ARTIST 2017

Im Wettbewerb sind alle Filme/Videos, die in der Programmsektion Local Artists präsentiert werden. Zudem wird ein Preis an einen der Wettbewerbsbeiträge dieser Sektion vergeben, der sich durch einen innovativen künstlerischen Ansatz auszeichnet. Eine Fachjury vergibt die Preise an die Regisseurin/den Regisseur des prämierten Filmes. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier.

Felix Sebastian Huber (AT)

Felix Sebastian Huber, geb. 1988 in Vöcklabruck, absolvierte die HTL Goethestraße für Grafik- und Kommunikationsdesign. Seit 2014 studiert er Zeit- basierte Medien an der Kunstuniversität Linz im Masterprogramm. Hubers Farfalla wurde 2015 mit dem Sachpreis des CROSSING EUROPE Award – Local Artist sowie beim Rueda Film Festival Barcelona als bester Kurzdokumentarfilm ausgezeichnet. Neben seiner Regietätigkeit – XE (2014), MURL (2015),  FARFALLA (2015), OIS OK MAMA – TEXTA (2016) UND PISTOIN –  DA  STAUMMTISCH  (2016) – ist Felix Sebastian Huber als Kameramann für Filmschaffende wie Katharina Gruzei, Markus Mörth (GESCHWISTER ) und Nasri Hajjaj (THE PURPLE FIELD ) tätig. 

Katrin Köppert (DE/AT)

Katrin Köppert ist Queer-Medien-Affekt-Theoretikerin. Sie wurde in Görlitz geboren, lebt in Berlin und lehrt bei den Medientheorien an der Kunstuniversität Linz. Sie studierte Gender Studies und Neuere Deutsche Literatur  an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Ihre Dissertation befasst sich mit dem Thema queer pain in  (vernacular) photography post-war & pre-stonewall. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Queer Theory, Affect Studies und politische Gefühle, Visual Culture, Populärkultur, Foto-, Film- und Mediengeschichte, Post- und Dekoloniale (Medien-) Theorie. Zuletzt erschienen: „Furnituring the Future: Henrike Naumann's Piece of cARpeT, in: FKW//Zeitschrift für Geschlechterforschung und visuelle Kultur, 61, Dated Formats Now: Material Practices in Audiovisual Art, 2017: 73-78, in Co-Herausgeberinnenschaft: I is for Impasse. Affektive Queerverbindungen in Theorie_Aktivismus_Kunst, Berlin 2015.

Angela Summereder (AT)

Angela Summereder, geb. 1958 in Ort im Innkreis, studierte Filmregie, Germanistik sowie Publizistik und Kommunikationswissenschaft in Wien. Ihre Dissertation befasste sich mit der Filmarbeit von Jean-Marie Straub und Danièle Huillet. Summereder arbeitet als Autorin und (Dokumentarfilm-)Regisseurin, ist darüber hinaus in der Kunstvermittlung, Theaterpädagogik und Erwachsenenbildung tätig. 1981 drehte und schrieb sie den wegweisenden Spielfilm Zechmeister. Zu ihren Regiearbeiten zählen außerdem Blut in der Spur (1978), Abendbrot (2008), Jobcenter (2009), Im Augenblick. Die Historie und das Offene (2013) und Aus dem Nichts (2015). 2016 wurde Angela Summereder mit dem Landeskulturpreis Oberösterreich in der Sparte Film ausgezeichnet.