Go to content Go to main menu

JURY COMPETITION FICTION 2018

The Competition Fiction comprises first and second European feature fiction films. During the awards presentation the Jury Competition Fiction gives out the Crossing Europe Award – Best Fiction Film to the director of the prize-winning film. All awards HERE.

Stefan Butzmühlen (DE)
Germany, filmmaker, distributor

Stefan Butzmühlen is a film and video artist and founder of the German film distribution company GRANDFILM. His first feature film Sleepless Knights premiered at the 63th Berlinale and was shown at numerous international film festivals. His second feature Radiant Sea premiered at Crossing Europe in 2015.    

Václav Kadrnka (CZ)
Czech Republic, filmmaker, film teacher at FAMU in Prague

Václav Kadrnka studied theatre in Great Britain and directing at the Film and TV School of the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague. In 2012, the Czech film critics named Václav Kadrnka Discovery of the Year. His second feature Little Crusader is shown at Crossing Europe in the Panorama Fiction section and won the main competition in Karlovy Vary IFF in 2017. 

Martha Otte (NO) 
Norway, festival director

Martha Otte, born in California, emigrated to Norway in 1974. She has been working with Tromso International Film Festival (TIFF) since 1998 and was appointed artistic director of the festival in 2004. TIFF’s trademark is high-quality arthouse programming for Norway’s largest festival audience.  


JURY COMPETITION DOCUMENTARY 2018

This award is given out to one of the eleven documentary films from the section Competition Documentary with a minimum length of 60 minutes and with socio-political/social relevance, which is an Austrian premiere, and produced in 2017/18. The award goes to the director of the prize-winning film. All awards HERE

Zdeněk Blaha (CZ)
Czech Republic, East Silver Manager, curator

Since 2009 Zdeněk Blaha has been working for the Institute of Documentary Film as East Silver Manager, specializing on festival strategies and distribution. He regularly cooperates with festivals in the Czech Republic, such as Karlovy Vary IFF, Summer Film School Uherské Hradiště and Days of European Film.   

Magali Roucaut (FR)
France, filmmaker

Magali Roucaut studied documentary filmmaking at University of Evry Val d’Essonne. Since then she has been experimenting with the audiovisual form, both in the films she has been commissioned to make and in documentaries of her own. Her film Behind the Stone Wall was part of Crossing Europe 2017. 

Oliver Sertić (HR)
Croatia, documentary producer, festival programmer / director

Oliver Sertić is originally from Zagreb but lives in Berlin. He has produced around 30 feature and short documentaries and experimental films. Since 2012 he has been the director of Liburnia Film Festival, the Croatian documentary film festival in Opatija.   


JURY COMPETITION LOCAL ARTIST 2018

All the films/videos presented in the program section Local Artists participate in the competition. An expert jury awards the prizes to the director of the prize-winning film. All awards HERE.

Anatol Bogendorfer (AT)
Austria, artist, works in the fields of sound and film

Various activities in the local cultural scene (KAPU, StopSpot, Hörstadt), currently active in the electronic duo Gitter. Several short films, experimental AV works, founded Retro Goldmine Film, directs and produces documentary shorts. His debut feature Innere Blutungen was shown at Crossing Europe in 2013. 

Marija Milovanovic (AT)
Austria, cultural manager, curator

Marija Milovanovic is the co-manager of Vienna Shorts Agentur founded in 2015, which concentrates on the effective presentation and distribution of (short) films. Since 2008 she has been working for VIS Vienna Shorts, Austria’s only Oscar-accredited short film festival. 

Oona Valarie Serbest (AT)
Austria, artist, cultural manager

Oona Valarie Serbest is CEO of FIFTITU% — a networking association for women* in art and culture, CEO of the alliance Feminismus und Krawall, founding member and chairwoman of the cultural association Peligro and a graduating student at the University of Arts in Linz. Her debut feature Von Hexen und verrückten Kühen was shown at Crossing Europe in 2012. 


JUGENDJURY

The Youth Jury awards the prize to the director of the prize-winning film. The following films are up for debate:

BLIND & HÄSSLICH / UGLY & BLIND 
Tom Lass, DE 2017, 100 min, OmeU

COBAIN 
Nanouk Leopold, NL/BE/DE 2017, 94 min, OmeU 

DRÖM VIDARE / BEYOND DREAMS / TRÄUM WEITER 
Rojda Sekersöz, SE 2017, 93 min, OmdU 

NIC JAKO DŘÍV / NOTHING LIKE BEFORE 
Lukáš Kokeš, Klára Tasovská, CZ 2017, 92 min, OmeU 

NINA 
Juraj Lehotský, SK/CZ 2017, 82 min, OmeU 

TEAM HURRICANE 
Annika Berg, DK 2017, 96 min, OmeU

Anna Haderer, 17 years, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz
Selina Hilber, 18 years, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz
Sophie Rieger, 18 years, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz
Valentin Weibold, 18 years, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz
Lena Pöschko, 18 years, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz

Zum Inhalt Zum Hauptmenü

JURY COMPETITION FICTION 2018

In der Sektion Competition Fiction laufen erste und zweite europäische Langspielfilme. Die Jury Competition – Fiction vergibt im Rahmen der Preisverleihung den CROSSING EUROPE Award – Best Fiction Film an die Regisseurin / den Regisseur des prämierten Filmes. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier.

Stefan Butzmühlen (DE) 
Deutschland, Filmemacher, Distributor

Stefan Butzmühlen ist Film- und Videokünstler, Begründer der deutschen Vertriebsgesellschaft GRANDFILM. Seiner erster Spielfilm Sleepless Knights feierte bei der 63. Berlinale Premiere und wurde auf zahlreichen internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt. Sein zweiter Spielfilm Radiant Sea feierte bei Crossing Europe 2015 Premiere. 

Václav Kadrnka (CZ)
Tschechien, Filmemacher, Lehrbeauftragter für Film an der FAMU in Prag

Václav Kadrnka studierte Theaterwissenschaften in Großbritannien und Regie an der Film- und Fernsehschule der Akademie der Darstellenden Künsten in Prag. 2012 nannten tschechische FilmkritikerInnen Václav Kadrnka die Entdeckung des Jahres. Sein zweiter Spielfilm Little Crusader wird bei Crossing Europe in der Sektion European Panorama Fiction gezeigt und hat den Hauptwettbewerb des Karlovy Vary IFF 2017 gewonnen. 

Martha Otte (NO) 
Norwegen, Festivalleiterin

Martha Otte, geboren in Kalifornien, emigrierte 1974 nach Norwegen. Sie arbeitet seit 1998 mit dem Tromsö International Film Festival (TIFF) zusammen und wurde 2004 zur Künstlerischen Leiterin ernannt. Das Markenzeichen von TIFF ist hochkarätige Arthouse-Programmierung für das größte Festivalpublikum in Norwegen.


JURY COMPETITION DOCUMENTARY 2018

Der Preis wird an einen der elf Dokumentarfilme aus der Sektion CROSSING EUROPE Competition – Documentary mit einer Mindestlänge von 60 Minuten vergeben und mit gesellschaftspolitischer/sozialer Relevanz, österreichische Erstaufführung und Produktionsjahr 2017/18 vorausgesetzt. Der Preis geht an die Regisseurin/den Regisseur des prämierten Filmes. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier.

Zdeněk Blaha (CZ)
Tschechien, East Silver Manager, Kurator

Seit 2009 arbeitet Zdeněk Blaha am Institute of Documentary Film als East Silver Manager, mit dem Schwerpunkt Festivalstrategien und Vertrieb. Er arbeitet regelmäßig mit tschechischen Festivals zusammen, u.a. Karlovy Vary IFF, Summer Film School Uherské Hradiště und Tage des Europäischen Film.

Magali Roucaut (FR)
Frankreich, Filmemacherin

Magali Roucaut studierte Dokumentarfilm an der Universität Evry Val d’Essonne. Seitdem experimentiert sie mit der audiovisueller Form, sowohl in Auftragsfilmen wie auch in eigenen Dokumentarfilmen. Ihr Film Behind the Stone Wall wurde im Rahmen von Crossing Europe 2017 gezeigt. 

Oliver Sertić (HR)
Kroatien, Dokumentarfilmproduzent, Festival Programmer / Direktor

Oliver Sertić stammt ursprünglich aus Zagreb, lebt aber in Berlin. Er hat rund 30 abendfüllende und kurze Dokumentar- und experimentelle Filme. Seit 2012 leitet er das Liburnia Filmfestival, das kroatische Dokumentarfilmfestival in Opatija.   


JURY COMPETITION LOCAL ARTIST 2018

Im Wettbewerb sind alle Filme/Videos, die in der Programmsektion Local Artists präsentiert werden. Eine Fachjury vergibt die Preise an die Regisseurin/ den Regisseur des prämierten Filmes. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier.

Anatol Bogendorfer (AT)
Österreich, Künstler, arbeitet in den Bereichen Ton und Film

Diverse Tätigkeiten in der lokalen Kulturszene (KAPU, StopSpot, Hörstadt), derzeit aktiv im Elektronik-Duo Gitter. Mehrere Kurzfilme, experimentelle audiovisuelle Arbeiten, Gründer von Retro Goldmine Film, Regisseur und Produzent dokumentarischer Kurzfilme. Sein Debütfilm Innere Blutungen wurde im Rahmen von Crossing Europe 2013 gezeigt.

Marija Milovanovic (AT)
Österreich, Kulturmanagerin, Kuratorin

Marija Milovanovic ist Ko-Managerin der 2015 gegründeten Vienna Shorts Agentur, die sich auf die wirksame Präsentation und Vertrieb von (Kurz-) Filmen konzentriert. Seit 2008 arbeitet sie bei VIS Vienna Shorts, das einzige Oscar-akkreditierte Kurzfilmfestival in Österreich.

Oona Valarie Serbest (AT)
Österreich, Künstlerin, Kulturtäterin

Oona Valarie Serbest ist Geschäftsführerin von FIFTITU% — ein Vernetzungsverein für Frauen* in Kunst und Kultur, Geschäftsführerin der Allianz Feminismus und Krawall, Gründungsmitglied und Vorstand des Kulturvereins Peligro, und Diplomantin an der Kunst Universität Linz. Ihre Debütdoku Von Hexen und verrückten Kühen wurde im Rahmen von Crossing Europe 2012 gezeigt 


JUGENDJURY

Die 2018 erstmals geladene Jugendjury bewertet insgesamt sechs Filme des Festivalprogramms 2018. Folgende Filme stehen zur Wahl:

BLIND & HÄSSLICH / UGLY & BLIND 
Tom Lass, DE 2017, 100 min, OmeU

COBAIN 
Nanouk Leopold, NL/BE/DE 2017, 94 min, OmeU 

DRÖM VIDARE / BEYOND DREAMS / TRÄUM WEITER 
Rojda Sekersöz, SE 2017, 93 min, OmdU 

NIC JAKO DŘÍV / NOTHING LIKE BEFORE 
Lukáš Kokeš, Klára Tasovská, CZ 2017, 92 min, OmeU 

NINA 
Juraj Lehotský, SK/CZ 2017, 82 min, OmeU 

TEAM HURRICANE 
Annika Berg, DK 2017, 96 min, OmeU

Anna Haderer, 17 Jahre, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz
Selina Hilber, 18 Jahre, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz
Sophie Rieger, 18 Jahre, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz
Valentin Weibold, 18 Jahre, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz
Lena Pöschko, 18 Jahre, HBLA für künstlerische
Gestaltung Linz