Go to content Go to main menu

JURY COMPETITION FICTION

The Competition Fiction comprises first and second European feature fiction films produrced for theatricl release. During the awards ceremony the Jury Competition Fiction gives out the award to the director of the prize-winning film. More information about the festival awards here

Mahmut Fazıl Coşkun (TR)
Turkey, filmmaker

Mahmut Fazıl Coşkun’s fiction feature debut, Wrong Rosary (2009), won several awards, including International Film Festival Rotterdam’s Tiger Award and the Crossing Europe Award Best Fiction Film in 2009. His second film, Yozgat Blues (2013), premiered in San Sebastián. The Announcement premiered in Venice where it won the Special Jury Prize.

Ana Lungu (RO)
Romania, filmmaker

Born in Bucharest in 1978, Ana Lungu studied psychology and film directing. Her films were selected in film festivals such as Locarno (2010, The Belly of the Whale), International Film Festival Rotterdam (2015, Self-Portrait of a Dutiful Daughter, which won the Crossing Europe Award Best Fiction Film in 2015) and Sarajevo Film Festival (2018, One and a Half Prince).

Jean Perret (FR/CH)
France/Switzerland, festival director,  head of the cinema departement/Geneva University of Art and Design

Jean Perret is the author of numerous film publications and teaches seminars on semiotics, aesthetics and cinéma du réel. In 1990 he founded the Critics Week at Locarno Filmfestival and from 1995 to 2010 he was the festival director of Visions du Réel in Nyon. From 2010 to 2018 he was the head of the Cinema Department at the Geneva University of Art and Design.


JURY COMPETITION DOCUMENTARY

This award is given out to one of the documentary films from the section Competition Documentary with a minimum length of 60 minutes which has socio-political/social relevance, is an Austrian premiere and was produced in 2018/19. The award goes to the director of the prize-winning film. More information about the festival awards here.

Ralph Eue (DE) 
Germany, festival curator, film publicist, journalist

Ralph Eue studied German, Romance languages and architecture. Since 1980 he has been working as a film publicist and translator. He teaches film history and theory at the German Film and TV Academy, the University of Arts in Berlin and at the University of Vienna. Eue is the head of program selection at DOK Leipzig.

Djamila Grandits (AT)
Austria, curator, cultural manager, festival worker

In 2016 and 2017 Djamila Grandits was the artistic director (with Julia Sternthal) of “this human world film festival” in Vienna. As a member of “CineCollective” she is responsible for “Kaleidoskop – Film und Freiluft am Karlsplatz”. She works at the intersections and on the deconstruction of theoretical concepts, political, artistic and activist forms.

Oksana Sarkisova (RU)
Budapest, festival director, researcher, lecturer

Oksana Sarkisova, born in Moscow, is the director of Verzio International Human Rights Documentary Film Festival in Budapest, researcher at Blinken OSA and head of the Visual Studies Platform at CEU, Budapest. She teaches and publishes on memory politics and documentary film and is the director of the summer program “Fields of Vision” in Budapest in 2019.


JURY COMPETITION LOCAL ARTISTS

All the films/videos presented in the program section Local Artists participate in the competition. An expert jury awards the prizes to the director of the prize-winning film. More information about the festival awards here.

Sebastian Markt (DE)
Germany, curator, festival and cinema worker

Born in Linz, Sebastian Markt studied history and philosophy in Vienna and Berlin. He is program coordinator at Berlinale Generation, co-curator at Dokfilmwoche Berlin, writes as a film critic (e.g. for Perlentaucher, Sissy and Indiekino) and works at several arthouse cinemas in Berlin.

Violetta Wakolbinger (AT) 
Austria, media artist, photographer and graphic designer

Violetta Wakolbinger is a media artist, photographer and graphic designer. After studying space and design strategies and time-based media at the University of Arts Linz, her focus has been on architecture photography. Her artistic work includes film and installation. Her films Open Tiles and Layer by Layer were screened at Crossing Europe.

Katharina Weinberger-Lootsma (AT)
Austria, curator, cultural manager, lecturer 

Katharina Weinberger-Lootsma, born in Linz, studied art history in Innsbruck. She is a curator, cultural manager and lecturer. In 2016 she co-curated the Montenegro pavilion at the Venice Biennale of Architecture. Since 2018 she has been the curatorial head head of kulturtankstelle, the coop-lab of the Upper Austrian Culture Quarter and the University of Arts Linz.


YAAAS! YOUTH JURY

The YAAAS! Youth Jury awards the prize to the director of one of the six YAAAS! Competition titles. More information about the festival awards here.

Helin Bingöl
17 years, Zwettl an der Rodl
BORG Bad Leonfelden
Marlene Estermann
16 years, Bad Leonfelden
BORG Bad Leonfelden
Nefise Gül
16 years, Rohrbach im Mühlkreis
BORG Bad Leonfelden
Jonah Mitter
16 years, Gallneukirchen
BORG Bad Leonfelden
Umut Sarikaya
15 years, Zwettl an der Rodl
BORG Bad Leonfelden

Zum Inhalt Zum Hauptmenü

JURY COMPETITION FICTION

In der Sektion Competition Fiction laufen erste und zweite europäische Langspielfilme, die für eine Kinoauswertung produziert wurden. Die Jury Competition – Fiction vergibt im Rahmen der Preisverleihung den CROSSING EUROPE Award – Best Fiction Film an die Regisseurin / den Regisseur des prämierten Filmes. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier.

Mahmut Fazıl Coşkun (TR)
Türkei, Filmemacher

Coşkuns Spielfilmdebüt, Wrong Rosary (2009), gewann mehrere Auszeichnungen; u.a. den Tiger Award beim Internationalen Film Festival Rotterdam und den Crossing Europe Best Fiction Award 2009. Sein zweiter Film, Yozgat Blues (2013), wurde in San Sebastián uraufgeführt. The Announcement hatte in Venedig 2018 die Weltpremiere und gewann dort den Sonderpreis der Jury. 

 

Ana Lungu (RO)
Rumanien, Filmemacher

1978 in Bukarest geboren, studierte Ana Lungu Psychologie und Regie. Ihre Filme wurden u.a. für Filmfestivals wie Locarno (2010, The Belly of the Whale) und das Internationale Filmfestival Rotterdam (2015, Self-Portrait of a Dutiful Daughter) ausgewählt. Letzter gewann den Crossing Europe Best Fiction Award 2015. One and a Half Prince feierte seine Premiere in Sarajevo 2018.

Jean Perret (FR/CH)
Frankreich/Schweiz, Festivalleiter, Leitung der Filmabteilung/Geneva University of Art and Design

Jean Perret ist Autor zahlreicher Publikationen und hält Seminare über Semiotik, Ästhetik und das Cinéma du réel. 1990 gründete er die Critic's Week beim Locarno Filmfestival und von 1995 bis 2010 war er Festivaldirektor von Visions du Réel in Nyon. Von 2010 bis 201 war er der Leiter des Cinema Department  an der Universität für Kunst und Design in Genf.


JURY COMPETITION DOCUMENTARY

Der Preis wird an einen der Dokumentarfilme aus der Sektion CROSSING EUROPE Competition – Documentary mit einer Mindestlänge von 60 Minuten vergeben und mit gesellschaftspolitischer/sozialer Relevanz, österreichische Erstaufführung und Produktionsjahr 2018/19 vorausgesetzt. Der Preis geht an die Regisseurin/den Regisseur des prämierten Filmes. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier.

Ralph Eue (DE) 
Kurator, Filmpublizist, Journalist

Ralph Eue studierte Germanistik, Romanistik und Architektur in Marburg, Paris und Frankfurt/Main. Seit 1980 ist er als Filmpublizist und Übersetzer tätig. Er lehrt Filmgeschichte und Filmtheorie an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie, der Universität der Künste in Berlin und der Universität Wien. Ralph Eue ist Programmverantwortlicher des Festivals DOK Leipzig.

Djamila Grandits (AT)
Wien, Kuratorin, Kulturmanagement, Festivalarbeit

2016 und 2017 war Djamila Grandits (gemeinsam mit Julia Sternthal) künstlerische Leiterin des „this human world film festival“ in Wien. Zurzeit ist sie unter anderem Startstipendiatin für Kulturmanagement in der Brunnenpassage, als Teil von CineCollective mitverantwortlich für Kaleidoskop - Film und Freiluft am Karlsplatzsowie Co-Kuratorin bei frameout - digital summer screenings. Interesse an Verschränkung und Aufbruch theoretischer Ansätze, politischer, künstlerischer und aktivistischer Formen.

Oksana Sarkisova (RU)
Budapest, Festivaldirektorin, Forscherin, Dozentin

Oksana Sarkisova, geboren in Moskau, ist Leiterin des Verzio International Rights Documentary Film Festivals in Budapest, Forscherin am Blinken OSA Archivum und Vorsitzende der Visual Studies Platform. Sie lehrt Erinnerungspolitik und Dokumentarfilm und ist 2019 Leiterin des Sommerprogramms „Fields of Vision“ an der Central European University in Budapest.


JURY COMPETITION LOCAL ARTISTS

Im Wettbewerb sind alle Filme/Videos, die in der Programmsektion Local Artists präsentiert werden. Eine Fachjury vergibt die Preise an die Regisseurin/ den Regisseur des prämierten Filmes. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier.

Sebastian Markt (DE)
Deutschland, Kurator, Festival- und Kinoarbeiter

Geboren in Linz, studierte Sebastian Markt Geschichte und Philosophie in Wien und Berlin. Er ist Programmkoordinator der Berlinale Genration und Co-Kurator der Dok-filmwoche Berlin, schreibt unter anderem für Perlentaucher, Sissy und Indiekino Filmkritiken und ist Mitarbeiter in verschiedenen Programmkinos Berlins. 

Violetta Wakolbinger (AT) 
Österreich, Medienkünstlerin, Fotografin, Grafikerin

Violetta Wakolbinger lebt und arbeitet als freischaffende Medienkünstlerin, Fotografin und Grafikerin in Oberösterreich. Nach dem Studium der Raum- und Designstrategien und Zeitbasierten Medien an der Kunstuniversität in Linz liegt ihr beruflicher Fokus auf Architekturfotografie. Ihr künstlerisches Schaffen umfasst neben der Fotografie die Medien Film und Installation.

Katharina Weinberger-Lootsma (AT)
Österreich, Kuratorin, Kulturmanagerin, Dozentin 

Katharina Weinberger-Lootsma, geboren in Linz, studierte Kunstgeschichte in Innsbruck. Sie ist Kuratorin, Kulturmanagerin und Dozentin. 2016 co-kuratierte sie den montenegrinischen Pavillon der Architekturbiennale in Venedig. Seit 2018 ist sie kuratorische Leiterin der kulturtankstelle, dem Coop-Lab des OÖ Kulturquartiers und der Kunstuniversität Linz. 


YAAAS! YOUTH JURY

The YAAAS! Youth Jury awards the prize to the director of one of the six YAAAS! Competition titles. More information about the festival awards here.

Helin Bingöl
17 Jahre, Zwettl an der Rodl
BORG Bad Leonfelden
Marlene Estermann
16 Jahre, Bad Leonfelden
BORG Bad Leonfelden
Nefise Gül
16 Jahre, Rohrbach im Mühlkreis
BORG Bad Leonfelden
Jonah Mitter
16 Jahre, Gallneukirchen
BORG Bad Leonfelden
Umut Sarikaya
15 Jahre, Zwettl an der Rodl
BORG Bad Leonfelden