Go to content Go to main menu

CANCELLATION DUE TO COVID-19

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the 17th edition of Crossing Europe Film Festival Linz had to be cancelled on 18 March 2020. With the alternative program "Crossing Europe 2020 - EXTRACTS" Crossing Europe invites you in several stages to a virtual journey across the film continent of Europe starting on 21 April. Details HERE.

JURY COMPETITION FICTION

The Competition Fiction comprises first and second European feature fiction films produrced for theatricl release. During the awards ceremony the Jury Competition Fiction gives out the award to the director of the prize-winning film. More information about the festival awards here

Anna Sofie Hartmann
Denmark, Germany
b. 1984
filmmaker

Born in Denmark, Anna Sofie Hartmann studied directing at the DFFB in Berlin. Her graduation film Limbo premiered in 2014 at San Sebastián, was invited to numerous festivals, including Crossing Europe 2015, and nominated for the European Film Academy’s Discovery Award 2015. In 2019 her second feature Giraffe premiered in Locarno.

Mark Jenkin
Great Britain
b. 1970
filmmaker

Cornish filmmaker Mark Jenkin is an associate of Falmouth University, the author of "Silent Landscape Dancing Grain 13 Film Manifesto", promoting the possibilities of handmade film, and has made over 50 short films. In 2019 his feature Bait won the BAFTA award for Outstanding Debut.

Ágnes Kocsis
Hungary
b. 1971
filmmaker

Ágnes Kocsis was born in Budapest. She majored in Polish language and literature, aesthetics, and film theory at Eötvös Lóránd University, then received a degree in film directing from the Academy of Drama and Film in Budapest. All her films have been shown at Crossing Europe, including her latest, Éden.


JURY COMPETITION DOCUMENTARY

This award is given out to one of the documentary films from the section Competition Documentary with a minimum length of 60 minutes which has socio-political/social relevance, is an Austrian premiere and was produced in 2019/20. The award goes to the director of the prize-winning film. More information about the festival awards here.

Annina Wettstein
Switzerland
b. 1977
festival programmer, researcher

Annina Wettstein studied social anthropology, French literature and business economics at the University of Zurich, where she later was a lecturer. Since 2018 she has been program advisor for the International Film Festival Rotterdam, and member of both the selection committee of DOK Leipzig and the Non-Fiction Commission of the film fund Zürcher Filmstiftung.

Matjaž Ivanišin
Slovenia
b. 1981
filmmaker

Matjaž Ivanišin graduated as film and TV director from AGRFT (Academy for Theatre, Radio, Film and Television) in Ljubljana in 2007. He has since worked as a freelance filmmaker. For his films Karpotrotter, Playing Men (CE'18) and Oroslan, which premiered in Locarno, he received national and international awards.

Anna Galatonova
Moldova
b. 1990
festival programmer, photographer

Anna Galatonova is the program coordinator, head of PR & communication and co-founder of Transnistria Documentary Film Festival Chesnok. She studied journalism at the Transnistrian State University and photography at the Academy of Documentary Photography and Photojournalism in St. Petersburg, and has done several documentary projects and exhibitions.


JURY COMPETITION LOCAL ARTISTS

All the films/videos presented in the program section Local Artists participate in the competition. An expert jury awards the prizes to the director of the prize-winning film. More information about the festival awards here.

Anna Ladinig
Austria
b. 1989
festival director, film studies

Anna Ladinig majored in Slavic and Romance studies at Innsbruck University and spent terms abroad in Kazan, Moscow, Bishkek and Almaty. In her dissertation she dealt with different localizations of central Asian cinema. Since 2019 she has been the director of the International Film Festival Innsbruck. 

Siniša Vidović
Austria
b. 1979
filmmaker, film producer

Siniša was born in Rijeka, then Yugoslavia and has been living in Austria since 1992. After graduating from the University of Arts in Linz, he founded his production company FORAFILM. With his first feature documentary film Korida he won the Crossing Europe Local Artist Award in 2016.

Anna Prischl
Austria
b. 1993
festival director, filmmaker

Anna Prischl, born in Wels in 1993, lives in Vienna and commutes to her work in Wels as a director of the International Youth Media Festival YOUKI. In 2019 her film Beyond, which she co-directed with Magdalena Reichinger, was shown at Crossing Europe. She also works as a costume designer for Austrian film productions.


YAAAS! YOUTH JURY

The YAAAS! Youth Jury awards the prize to the director of one of the six YAAAS! Competition titles. More information about the festival awards here.

Our youth jury for 2020 is from the BORG Grieskirchen.

Anna Fischbauer, b. 2002
Magdalena Irkuf, b. 2003
Hanna Gaisböck, b. 2003
Franziska Hinterberger, b. 2003
Laura Lappe, b. 2003
f.l.t.r. Anna Fischbauer, Magdalena Irkuf, Hanna Gaisböck, Franziska Hinterberger, Laura Lappe

Zum Inhalt Zum Hauptmenü

Jury 2020

Im März 2020 musste die 17. Ausgabe von Crossing Europe Filmfestival Linz aufgrund der Covid-19-Pandemie abgesagt werden. Das für 2020 geplante Festivalprogramm ist zu Dokumentationszwecken HIER abrufbar. Mit „Crossing Europe 2020 – EXTRACTS“ präsentiert Crossing Europe von April bis Dezember 2020 ein mehrteiliges Alternativprogramm mit Online-Angebot und einer Reihe von physischen Events im Kino.

Im Rahmen von „EXTRACTS: Local Artists Shorts im OÖ Kulturquartier“ werden bei der Preisverleihung am 10. Oktober die Festivalpreise CROSSING EUROPE Innovative Award – Local Artist (€ 3.500,- powered by OÖ Landes-Kultur GmbH) und CREATIVE REGION MUSIC VIDEO Award (€ 1.500,- powered by CREATIVE REGION Linz & Upper Austria) vergeben.

JURY COMPETITION FICTION

In der Sektion Competition Fiction laufen erste und zweite europäische Langspielfilme, die für eine Kinoauswertung produziert wurden. Die Jury Competition – Fiction vergibt im Rahmen der Preisverleihung den CROSSING EUROPE Award – Best Fiction Film an die Regisseurin / den Regisseur des prämierten Filmes. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier.

Anna Sofie Hartmann
Dänemark, Deutschland
geb. 1984
Filmemacherin

Anna Sofia Hartmann, geborene Dänin, studierte Regie an der DFFB in Berlin. Ihr Abschlussfilm Limbo feierte 2014 in San Sebastián Premiere und wurde danach zu zahlreichen Festivals eingeladen. 2015 wurde er für den Discovery Award der Europäischen Filmakademie nominiert. Ihr zweiter Spielfilm Giraffe feierte 2019 seine Premiere in Locarno. 

Mark Jenkin
Großbritannien 
geb. 1970
Filmemacher

Der in Cornwall lebende Regisseur Mark Jenkin ist sowohl Lehrbeauftragter der Falmouth University, als auch Autor. Nach dem von ihm geschriebenen „Silent Landscape Grain 13 Film Manifesto“, welches die Möglichkeiten und Vorteile von analogem Film aufzeigt, hat Jenkin selbst über 50 Kurzfilme gedreht. 2020 erhielt er für seinen Langfilm Bait den BAFTA Award für Outstanding Debut.

Ágnes Kocsis
Ungarn
geb. 1971
Filmemacherin

Ágnes Kocsis wurde in Budapest geboren. Sie studierte Polnische Literatur und Sprache sowie Filmtheorie an der Eötvös Lóránd Universität. Später machte sie ihren Abschluss in Filmregie an der Academy of Drama and Film in Budapest. Ihre Filme wurden auf internationalen Festivals gezeigt, darunter auch ihr aktueller Film Éden.


JURY COMPETITION DOCUMENTARY

Der Preis wird an einen der Dokumentarfilme aus der Sektion CROSSING EUROPE Competition – Documentary mit einer Mindestlänge von 60 Minuten vergeben und mit gesellschaftspolitischer/sozialer Relevanz, österreichische Erstaufführung und Produktionsjahr 2019/20 vorausgesetzt. Der Preis geht an die Regisseurin/den Regisseur des prämierten Filmes. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier.

Annina Wettstein
Schweiz
geb. 1977
Festivalkonsulentin, Fotografin 

Annina Wettstein studierte Sozialanthropologie, Französische Literatur und Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Universität Zürich, an welcher sie danach als Lektorin arbeitete. Seit 2018 ist sie Programmkonsulentin für das International Film Festival Rotterdam, und Mitglied der Auswahlkommission von DOK Leipzig sowie der Non-Fiction Kommission der Zürcher Filmstiftung.

Matjaž Ivanišin
Slowenien
geb. 1981
Filmemacher

2007 schloss Matjaž ivanišin sein Studium als Film- und TV Regisseur an der AGRFT (Academy for Theatre, Radio, Film and Television) in Ljubljana ab. Seitdem arbeitet er als freier Filmschaffender. Für seine Filme Karpotrotter, Playing Men (CE´18) und Oroslan, welcher seine Premiere in Locarno feierte, wurde er sowohl auf nationaler wie internationaler Ebene vielfach ausgezeichnet.

Anna Galatonova
Republik Moldau
geb. 1990
Programmkoordinatorin, Forscherin

Anna Galatanova ist Mitgründerin, Programmkoordinatorin und Leiterin der Presse- und Kommunikationsabteilung des Transnistra Documentary Film Festival Chesnok. Sie studierte Journalismus an der Transnistra State University und Fotografie an der Academy of Documentary Photography and Photojournalism in St. Petersburg. Neben der Arbeit an Dokumentarfilmprojekten organisiert sie auch zahlreiche Ausstellungen. 


JURY COMPETITION LOCAL ARTISTS

Im Wettbewerb sind alle Filme/Videos, die in der Programmsektion Local Artists präsentiert werden. Eine Fachjury vergibt die Preise an die Regisseurin/ den Regisseur des prämierten Filmes. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier.

Anna Ladinig
Österreich
geb. 1989
Festivalleiterin, Filmwissenschaftlerin

Anna Ladinig studierte Slawistik und Romanistik an der Universität Innsbruck und absolvierte im Zuge dieser Auslandsaufenthalte in Kazan, Moskau, Bishkek und Almaty. In ihrer Dissertation beschäftigt sie sich mit den unterschiedlichen Lokalisierungen des Zentralasiatischen Kinos. Seit Oktober 2019 leitet sie das IFFI – Internationales Film Festival Innsbruck.

Siniša Vidović
Österreich
geb. 1979
Filmemacher, Filmproduzent

Siniša wurde in Rijeka, dem ehemaligen Jugoslawien, geboren und lebt seit 1992 in Österreich. Nach seinem Diplomstudium an der Kunstuniversität Linz, gründete er die Produktionsfirma FORAFILM. Mit seinem ersten Kinodokumentarfilm Korida gewann er 2016 den Crossing Europe Local Artist Award.

Anna Prischl
Österreich
geb. 1993
Festivalleiterin, Filmemacherin

Anna Prischl, geboren 1993 in Wels, lebt in Wien und pendelt für ihre Arbeit als Indentantin des Internationalen Jugend-Medien-Festivals YOUKI nach Wels. Im Jahr 2019 wurde ihr Film Beyond, den sie gemeinsam mit Magdalena Reichinger realisierte, bei Crossing Europe gezeigt. Sie arbeitet auch als Kostümbildnerin für österreichische Filmproduktionen.


YAAAS! YOUTH JURY

Die YAAAS! Youth Jury vergeben den Preis an einen der der sechs Filme der Wettbewerbssektion YAAAS! Competition. Mehr zu den Festivalpreisen hier

Unsere diesjährige Youth Jury kommt von der BORG Grieskirchen.

Anna Fischbauer,
geb. 2002
Magdalena Irkuf,
geb. 2003
Hanna Gaisböck,
geb. 2003
Franziska Hinterberger,
geb. 2003
Laura Lappe,
geb. 2003
v.l.n.r. Anna Fischbauer, Magdalena Irkuf, Hanna Gaisböck, Franziska Hinterberger, Laura Lappe