Jury 2020

In March 2020 the 17th edition of Crossing Europe Film Festival Linz had to be canceled due to the Covid-19 pandemic. For documentation purposes the program planned for 2020 is published HERE. With "Crossing Europe 2020 - EXTRACTS", Crossing Europe is presenting a multi-part alternative program from April to December 2020 with an online program and a series of physical events in the cinema.
As part of "EXTRACTS: Local Artists Shorts im OÖ Kulturquartier", the festival prizes CROSSING EUROPE Innovative Award – Local Artist (€ 3.500,- powered by OÖ Landes-Kultur GmbH) and CREATIVE REGION MUSIC VIDEO Award (€ 1.500,- powered by CREATIVE REGION Linz & Upper Austria) have been awarded at the awards ceremony on October 10.

Jury Competition Fiction

The Competition Fiction comprises first and second European feature fiction films produrced for theatricl release. During the awards ceremony the Jury Competition Fiction gave out the award to the director of the prize-winning film. More information about the festival awards here.

Anna Sofie Hartmann

Denmark, Germany
b. 1984

Born in Denmark, Anna Sofie Hartmann studied directing at the DFFB in Berlin. Her graduation film Limbo premiered in 2014 at San Sebastián, was invited to numerous festivals, including Crossing Europe 2015, and nominated for the European Film Academy’s Discovery Award 2015. In 2019 her second feature Giraffe premiered in Locarno.

Mark Jenkin

Great Britain
b. 1970

Cornish filmmaker Mark Jenkin is an associate of Falmouth University, the author of "Silent Landscape Dancing Grain 13 Film Manifesto", promoting the possibilities of handmade film, and has made over 50 short films. In 2019 his feature Bait won the BAFTA award for Outstanding Debut.

Ágnes Kocsis (HU)

Ágnes Kocsis was born in Budapest. She majored in Polish language and literature, aesthetics, and film theory at Eötvös Lóránd University, then received a degree in film directing from the Academy of Drama and Film in Budapest. All her films have been shown at Crossing Europe, including her latest, Éden.

Jury Competition Documentary

This award is given out to one of the documentary films from the section Competition Documentary with a minimum length of 60 minutes which has socio-political/social relevance, is an Austrian premiere and was produced in 2019/20. The award goes to the director of the prize-winning film. More information about the festival awards here.

Annina Wettstein (CH)

Festival programmer, born in St. Gallen (Switzerland) in 1977, lives in Zurich and Berlin. Annina Wettstein has worked for several film festivals as a member of the selection committee, curator and head of the programme department. Currently, she is a program delegate for the San Sebastián International Film Festival (Austria, Germany, Switzerland). Further, she's a scientific associate at the Film Section of the Swiss Federal Office of Culture. From 2018-2021 she has been a member of the selection committee of the International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film. Additionally, she has worked as a researcher on various film projects and been a jury member of several film festivals and a funding commission. She holds a master's degree in Social Anthropology, French Literature and Management from the University of Zurich and is a member of the Swiss Film Academy.

Matjaž Ivanišin

b. 1981

Matjaž Ivanišin graduated as film and TV director from AGRFT (Academy for Theatre, Radio, Film and Television) in Ljubljana in 2007. He has since worked as a freelance filmmaker. For his films Karpotrotter, Playing Men (CE'18) and Oroslan, which premiered in Locarno, he received national and international awards.

Anna Galatonova

b. 1990
festival programmer, photographer

Anna Galatonova is the program coordinator, head of PR & communication and co-founder of Transnistria Documentary Film Festival Chesnok. She studied journalism at the Transnistrian State University and photography at the Academy of Documentary Photography and Photojournalism in St. Petersburg, and has done several documentary projects and exhibitions.

Jury Competition Local Artists

All the films/videos presented in the program section Local Artists participate in the competition. An expert jury awards the prizes to the director of the prize-winning film. More information about the festival awards here.

Anna Ladinig

b. 1989
festival director, film studies

Anna Ladinig majored in Slavic and Romance studies at Innsbruck University and spent terms abroad in Kazan, Moscow, Bishkek and Almaty. In her dissertation she dealt with different localizations of central Asian cinema. Since 2019 she has been the director of the International Film Festival Innsbruck. 

Siniša Vidović

b. 1979
filmmaker, film producer

Siniša was born in Rijeka, then Yugoslavia and has been living in Austria since 1992. After graduating from the University of Arts in Linz, he founded his production company FORAFILM. With his first feature documentary film Korida he won the Crossing Europe Local Artist Award in 2016.

Anna Prischl

b. 1993
festival director, filmmaker

Anna Prischl, born in Wels in 1993, lives in Vienna and commutes to her work in Wels as a director of the International Youth Media Festival YOUKI. In 2019 her film Beyond, which she co-directed with Magdalena Reichinger, was shown at Crossing Europe. She also works as a costume designer for Austrian film productions.

YAAAS! Jugendjury

The YAAAS! Youth Jury awards the prize to the director of one of the six YAAAS! Competition titles. More information about the festival awards here.

Our youth jury for 2020 is from the BORG Grieskirchen.

Anna Fischbauer

b. 2002

Magdalena Irkuf

b. 2003

Hanna Gaisböck

b. 2003

Laura Lappe

b. 2003

FLTR Anna Fischbauer, Magdalena Irkuf, Hanna Gaisböck, Franziska Hinterberger, Laura Lappe